Skip to Content

Reviews of Gardening Express

Gardening Express

Sort by:
Pages: |< < 1 2 3 4 5 > >|
Not bad 8 out of 10

Posted by Laura Corin in Fife on Wednesday, 21 Sep 2011.

Note that this review is more than 6 months old and the company's procedures may have changed considerably since this review was written.
I ordered around ten plants in March. All but one arrived quickly and in good order. The missing plant arrived two months later - I didn't know it was out of stock when I ordered, but was told after the order.

All the plants did well after planting, but I noticed a few months later that the flowers of one of the plants were not as described. I called up Gardening Express (I got through straight away) and they asked me to email them some photos. They replied immediately agreeing that it was the wrong plant. They shipped me a replacement without argument, which arrived in a few days.
BUYER BEWARE - GARDENING EXPRESS 1 out of 10

Posted by Menus in West Yorkshire on Friday, 26 Aug 2011.

Note that this review is more than 6 months old and the company's procedures may have changed considerably since this review was written.
I read the reviews but still decided to order.
Thats where your nightmare begins!
Everything adverse written is probably correct.
So now you know, be warned!
Any company who cannot be contacted easily must have a problem and that problem becomes yours.
Frustarting beyond belief! 1 out of 10

Posted by karen richards on Friday, 26 Aug 2011.

Note that this review is more than 6 months old and the company's procedures may have changed considerably since this review was written.
I wish I had looked at the reviews before purchasing a GROUPON order via these people - and not just one, two seperate orders, one for me, one for my mum. As we live next door, i tried to organise one delivery, amalgamating the order. It seems this was far too complex a procedure for this company's web-order facility to compute.

Of course, there are NO means of contacting these people either - having spent over an hour in total on three separate occasions on the phone being told I was 'first in the queue', I eventually got cut off. There is no e-mail address, and no other means of contact aside from driving down to the address stated on the website, which I suspect may not even exist.

They may offer discount rates, but for an extremely poor service. Telephones should be manned efficiently if you are trying to operate a nationwide business, and the lack of an e-mail address as a contact on a web-based business is absurd.

If and when my planters arrive, I shall write a further update. What a farce.
gardening express service review 3 out of 10

Posted by simon in york on Saturday, 06 Aug 2011.

Note that this review is more than 6 months old and the company's procedures may have changed considerably since this review was written.
I ordered plants which you would usually expect to be in season. The plants took 3 weeks to deliver, a bit dispointing I did try email gardening express to see where my order was with no reply.

The plants look healthy but smaller than expected. If buying from a garden centre I would not have bought them for the price. I have learnt a lesson and will not buy from gardening express again.
gardening express 10 out of 10

Posted by bessie in Angus, Scotland on Thursday, 16 Jun 2011.

Note that this review is more than 6 months old and the company's procedures may have changed considerably since this review was written.
I have just recieved my plants from gardening express and I am delighted with them . Previously I had ordered same plants from another company and the new ones are at least 4 times the size and delivery was 1/2 the time. was really worried when i read all the negative reviews, but gardening express was excellent will use again.
Rubbish company 1 out of 10

Posted by Jonathan Mills in Lancashire on Tuesday, 24 May 2011.

Note that this review is more than 6 months old and the company's procedures may have changed considerably since this review was written.
I placed an order for 178 worth of plants. Only half have turned up and those were late. Smaller than advertised too. customer service is almost non-existent. Reply to first customer service ticket but no further replies since.

Do not deal with this company.
Dissatisfacion, disappointment & a feeling of helplessness 1 out of 10

Posted by Valerie Hitchings in Nottingham on Saturday, 09 Apr 2011.

Note that this review is more than 6 months old and the company's procedures may have changed considerably since this review was written.
I placed an order with this company 6.3.11. Although as yet I have not received the plants, money was taken from my account 8.3.11. Telephone calls are NEVER answered and they do not accept emails. Eventually I found the 'support ticket' facility. I received a reply informing me the plants would arrive at the end of March. The website is complicated - I have been unable to get to 'my accout' or to find details of my order. Having read the comments of others, sadly too late, I believe this set up should be taken to task.
I feel sad and cheated 1 out of 10

Posted by Paul Sumpton in Warrington on Saturday, 26 Mar 2011.

Note that this review is more than 6 months old and the company's procedures may have changed considerably since this review was written.
I ordered a few plants from gardening express - the first part of the order to arrive included a butchers broom plant which was in such an awful condition it beggared belief.
The response I received from gardening express was that it may have been a mishap during packing .... The plant was in a shocking condition when it was dispatched that I feel like they have tried to blag me.
Gardening Express 4 out of 10

Posted by Beatrice Eileen Jordan in North Yorkshire on Tuesday, 05 Oct 2010.

Note that this review is more than 6 months old and the company's procedures may have changed considerably since this review was written.
Back in April I placed an order for 3 Durban Canna Lilies and two batches of tulips - Uncle Tom and Candy Club. The lilies arrived very quickly - though only one actually did anything - two of them were very small and inferior quality. I chased them up for the tulip bulbs through their "ticket" system and eventually, after sending letters by recorded delivery etc, I was told I would get them when they get them - probably between August and November!!! They actually arrived this morning (5 October) and seem good quality bulbs. I read numerous reviews on line after the canna's arrived and was horrified as I usually check reviews first. The most amazing thing was I put their post code from their web site into Google Street Map - its only a house in the middle of nowhere - not even a garden centre!! Only time will tell if the tulips are any good but as I only spent 40 including postage I am one of the lucky ones - never again though!! The quality of their products seems OK its their communication skills that need propagating!!
Gardening express gives you stress 1 out of 10

Posted by lize in SW England on Tuesday, 14 Sep 2010.

Note that this review is more than 6 months old and the company's procedures may have changed considerably since this review was written.
Placed an order with Gardening Express in March. 1st lot arrived in pots half the size they advertised and fit for the compost heap in April. Told to return unsuitable plants at my expense. Didn`t make economic sense to me so suffered the loss. 6mths later the summer flowering plant arrived fit for the compost heap again. 45 to these rogue traders just like that. They make it almost impossible to contact them as a ploy to deter people. You need to raise a ticket which is not easy to access.They`re the worst
traders ever. Stay clear of them at all cost. People dealing with plants are generally nice. This lot are not. They should be banned from trading.


Gardening Express 1 out of 10

Posted by confusia in Wiltshire on Friday, 16 Jul 2010.

Note that this review is more than 6 months old and the company's procedures may have changed considerably since this review was written.
I ordered back in May and after a couple of weeks it was obvious my order had been overlooked, though payment taken. I cancelled; then began a long laborious attempt to get my refund. Raising support tickets through their website is the only way to get a quick(ish) response, though finding how to do it is not very obvious. You need to wade through a lot of frequently asked questions first. Last night though I sent an email to order@gardeningexpress.co.uk marking it for the attention of Chris Bonnett (the MD) chasing my refund and it IS now credited back to my credit card. There are numerous replies from Chris Bonnett to other people's tales of woe on the Smarta website if you follow the Gardening Express winning an award link!
Gardening Express (UK) - RIP OFF 1 out of 10

Posted by phirst in UK on Wednesday, 30 Jun 2010.

Note that this review is more than 6 months old and the company's procedures may have changed considerably since this review was written.
I bought some plants off this company as a gift (cost 45). They arrived in a poor state, small, weedy and little chance of survival.

I've even created a couple of one page websites called

gardening-express.info and gardeningexpress.info

If you dont get any satisfaction - get even !
Unscrupulous practice 2 out of 10

Posted by viettaclark in Southampton on Wednesday, 02 Jun 2010.

Note that this review is more than 6 months old and the company's procedures may have changed considerably since this review was written.
I ordered several plants on 13/5/10 and they all arrived before the Bank Holiday, if a few days late.
The specimen large Box was two small plants, the "large" Agapanthus was a tiny root in a 2/3 litre pot as was the Geranium "Ann Folkard". Both were also weak specimens!!
The "large" Echinops was 3 plug plants in a 2/3 litre pot which I accepted and although the Penstemon was small it was very healthy.
All of these had been potted up quickly and sent out in a rush and I was very disappointed and fuming mad that they could get away with it!
I contacted Trading Standards to flag them up and I have now been given a full refund for the plants I was not happy with.
Buyer beware!!
Beware of Gardening Express 1 out of 10

Posted by Twinfly in Surrey on Tuesday, 01 Jun 2010.

Note that this review is more than 6 months old and the company's procedures may have changed considerably since this review was written.
We ordered goods from this company in Feb after 1 month no goods were delivered so, after reading similar reviews about these people we requested a refund. They were not keen on giving a refund and it took the intervention of our bank and the threat of legal action through the small claims court before they would give the refund.The refund was given end of May. The 1 star rating is because we have to give a rating. I would have prefered not give them a rating.
Pave your garden before you buy from this outfit 1 out of 10

Posted by mikejo1950 in Merseyside on Saturday, 22 May 2010.

Note that this review is more than 6 months old and the company's procedures may have changed considerably since this review was written.
They don't fulfil their orders, they don't email you as they say they will when orders (or in my case part orders)are dispatched. They dont e-mail you periodically as they say they will to let you know that they havn't forgotten about the rest of the order. They don't answer the dockets that you raise. In summary, they don't give a damn.
Pages: |< < 1 2 3 4 5 > >|

Review Summary



Gardening Express has received a rating of 2.70 out of 10 based on 74 user reviews.


User Opinions of Gardening Express

Average guest rating:
(94 votes).
Average review rating:
(74 votes).
Overall average rating:
(168 votes).

Click the guest rating to register your rating or, even better, write a quick review.
If you have used Gardening Express, please take the time to let others know about your experiences.




These reviews are taken from visitors to this website, reviews on Google and reviews on TrustedShops.com. Please note that people are more likely to write negative reviews if they have had a bad experience than they are to write positive reviews if they have had a good experience. Good reviews are just as helpful, so if you have had any good experiences shopping online, please add a review!


Subscribe or unsubscribe to be informed about new reviews for Gardening Express: First you will need to login.



Alternatively you can leave a quick comment about Gardening Express here:

Comments

We're currently updating the comments system.
In the meantime, please contact us through our contact form if you find an error.




RSS Reviews of Gardening Express

The views expressed in these reviews are not the views of TheUKHighStreet.com. Each reviewer has a distinct and valid email address. If you have written a review which does not appear here, please login and check that your email address is valid.

If you are a representative of the company being reviewed and would like to respond to an individual review, please contact us and we can post your response below the relevant review.






DISCLOSURE: We may earn a commission when you use one of our links to make a purchase.
We do our best to make sure the prices shown on this site are correct but they are not live prices so please check on the merchant's site for the correct current price.